BRDC F4: Legendary Brands Hatch GP circuit welcomes the 2015 field this weekend

//BRDC F4: Legendary Brands Hatch GP circuit welcomes the 2015 field this weekend

BRDC F4: Legendary Brands Hatch GP circuit welcomes the 2015 field this weekend

Brands Hatch in Kent will be the venue for rounds 13, 14 and 15 of the 2015 Duo BRDC Formula 4 season this weekend (1/2 August), with the field taking to the legendary Grand Prix circuit as the season moves into its second half. The series will co-headline alongside the British GT Championship for the fourth time this year.

Qualifying and race one of the weekend take place on Saturday (1 August) following a practice session in the morning. The pole position shoot-out begins at 12:15pm and will last 20 minutes, with lights going out at 15:55pm to start the first race of the weekend. Races two and three of the meeting will take place on Sunday (2 August) at 10:50am and 16:20pm respectively.

Championship leader Will Palmer enjoyed another strong weekend last time out at Snetterton as he took his fourth victory of the season and added a second-place finish to leave the Norfolk track with a lead of 25 points in the overall standings.

His closest challenger at present is Lanan Racing’s Rodrigo Fonseca. The Mexican racer stepped on to the podium for the sixth time in 12 races this season at Snetterton, with a runner-up finish in race two. Tom Jackson, who claimed his maiden BRDC Formula 4 success in Norfolk, is 57 points behind Palmer in third, narrowly ahead of former championship leader Chris Mealin and the ever-improving Harri Newey.

BRDC F4 race winner Jordan Albert is currently sixth for Sean Walkinshaw Racing with Ecurie Ecosse Young Driver Ciaran Haggerty, who claimed his third podium of the season in race three at Snetterton, in seventh. Jack Bartholomew took to the BRDC F4 podium for the first time in his career last time out and he is eighth, just ahead of Michael O’Brien and Zubair Hoque who round out the top-10.

Omar Ismail put in a breakout performance as he took his maiden BRDC F4 success with victory at Snetterton in just his fourth-ever single-seater race. He qualified on pole position and controlled the pace in race one to cross the line 1.351s ahead of Will Palmer to take the chequered flag. Further finishes of seventh and fifth in races two and three rounded out his good weekend and the Solihull youngster will be one to watch at Brands Hatch.

Last year’s championship saw two meetings held on the formidable layout with Raoul Hyman, Gustavo Lima and eventual champion George Russell taking a victory apiece in the first three races in May. When the series returned for the sixth round of the year, three different victors emerged. Two drivers, Chris Middlehurst and Brazilian Gaetano di Mauro, claimed their maiden BRDC F4 successes with Indian racer Arjun Maini bolstering his title credentials with victory in race three of the August weekend.

The final race of the weekend at Brands Hatch will be broadcast live on Motors TV in the UK and across Europe from 4:20pm on Sunday. The regular one-hour long highlights programme will be available on ITV4 and BT Sport a week after the race meeting and live timing will also be available throughout the weekend with text updates on the official Formula 4 website.

The 2.443-mile circuit, which has hosted many major international motorsport events including 14 Grands Prix races, will provide a stern test for the entire Duo BRDC Formula 4 field as the run-in to the end of the season begins in earnest.

For more information on the Duo BRDC F4 Championship, visit

2015 Duo BRDC Formula 4 Championship standings after race 12 of 24

1. Will Palmer, HHC Motorsport, 260 points
2. Rodrigo Fonseca, Lanan Racing, 235 points
3. Tom Jackson, Chris Dittmann Racing, 203 points
4. Chris Mealin, Lanan Racing, 188 points
5. Harri Newey, HHC Motorsport, 187 points
6. Jordan Albert, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, 178 points
7. Ciaran Haggerty, Ecurie Ecosse/GBR, 175 points
8. Jack Bartholomew, Lanan Racing, 171 points
9. Michael O’Brien, Chris Dittmann Racing, 130 points
10. Zubair Hoque, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, 116 points
11. Akhil Rabindra, Douglas Motorsport, 114 points
12. Jack Lang, Lang Sport/Gorse Motors, 112 points
13. Fernando Urrutia, Douglas Motorsport, 108 points
14. Sisa Ngebulana, HHC Motorsport, 106 points
15. Ameya Vaidyanathan, Hillspeed, 95 points
16. Sebastian Lanzetti, Hillspeed, 89 points
17. Omar Ismail, Chris Dittmann Racing, 88 points
18. Faisal Al Zubair, Hillspeed, 84 points
19. James Reveler, 23 Racing, 67 points
20. Hernan Fallas, Mark Godwin Racing, 35 points
21. Paul Sieljes, Chris Dittmann Racing, 34 points
22. Joe Stables, JR Racing, 14 points
23. Marc Gonzalez, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, 13 points

2018-07-17T23:11:28+00:00July 27th, 2015|BRDC F4|