Volkswagen driver Edoardo Mortara has claimed victory at the 57th Macau Grand Prix, retaining the title he claimed in 2009 to become the most successful Formula 3 driver in the event’s history.  With his second title in Macau, the 2010 Formula 3 Euro Series champion has become the first driver to ever win the prestigious invitation race on two separate occasions.

The commanding victory for Mortara around the tricky street circuit added to an already impressive weekend for the 24-year old Italian who had shown his potential after securing pole position in qualifying and victory in the qualification race. 

Mortara’s team-mates from the Volkswagen-powered Signature team completed a strong showing for Volkswagen with Laurens Vanthoor finishing second and Marco Wittmann crossing the line as the best placed rookie in fourth place. 

Commenting on the victory, Director of Volkswagen Motorsport Kris Nissen said: ‘We can be proud of this historic success at the most renowned and most difficult of all Formula 3 races.  On the surface, this may look like an easy feat but it actually involves a lot of hard work for which I would like to thank all who had a part in it.  The Signature squad has shown an extremely strong performance this year and Edoardo proved his class on this track, which truly tests the drivers’ skills, yet again.’

The final result at the Macau Grand Prix FIA Intercontinental Cup saw five Volkswagen customer teams, Carlin, Hitech Racing, Motopark Academy, Performance Racing and Signature, in the top 10 with a total of eight cars, bringing the competitive Formula 3 season to an end on a high.  The victory for Mortara in the Dallara-Volkswagen F308 marked the 54th Volkswagen victory in the 68th Formula 3 race of the 2010 season.

Results – 57th Macau Grand Prix, China

Pos. Driver Team Laps Total time Interval
1 Mortara (ITA)       Signature (Volkswagen) 15 39m 30.753s  
2 Vanthoor (BEL)       Signature (Volkswagen) 15 39m 32.873s +2.120
3 Bottas (FIN)          Prema (Mercedes) 15 39m 33.909s +3.156
4 Wittmann (GER)           Signature (Volkswagen) 15 39m 39.983s +6.230
5 van der Zande (NED)     Motopark (Volkswagen) 15 39m 41.384s +10.631
6 Felix da Costa (POR)   Carlin (Volkswagen) 15 39m 43.926s +13.173
7 Vergne (FRA)         Carlin (Volkswagen) 15 39m 47.261s +16.508
8 Merhi (ESP)         Prema (Mercedes) 15 39m 50.066s +19.313
9 Rosenqvist (SWE)         Performance (Volkswagen) 15 39m 51.096s +20.343
10 Huertas (COL)          Hitech (Volkswagen) 15 39m 52.115s +21.362