Andrew Jordan helps BMW win BTCC crown

//Andrew Jordan helps BMW win BTCC crown

Andrew Jordan helps BMW win BTCC crown

Andrew Jordan’s efforts at Brands Hatch helped BMW to secure the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Manufacturers’ Championship on Sunday.

The BMW Pirtek Racing driver scored crucial championship points on a dramatic day of racing at the Kent circuit to help the German manufacturer claim the title.

Starting a damp Race One on wet-weather tyres, the Lichfield racer made huge gains from his 18th place on the grid. But as the circuit dried and the slick-shod cars took over at the front, his WSR-run BMW 125i M Sport began to slip back.

A crucial couple of overtaking moves late in the race proved vital in the destiny of the Manufacturers’ title .

Making superb progress through the field in Races Two and Three, Andrew secured 17th and 13th-placed finishes to round out the season.

Andrew’s three race wins in 2017, in what was his first campaign in a rear-wheel-drive touring car, netted him ninth place in the Drivers’ Championship and put BMW Pirtek Racing eighth in the Teams’ Championship.

Andrew Jordan said: “I’m proud to have helped BMW secure the Manufacturers’ title in my first year in a rear-wheel-drive touring car. Today was tough with the way the conditions were; In Race One, in particular, we could have looked like heroes if the rain had continued, but it wasn’t to be. We’ve had some fantastic highs during the year with three wins and I can definitely feel that my speed and consistency with the car has improved as the season’s gone on, so that’s the big positive I’ll take into the winter.”

Dick Bennetts, Team Principal, said: “The primary target for BMW Pirtek Racing this weekend was to help BMW win the Manufacturers’ Championship and it’s fantastic to have done this. We went with wet tyres in Race One in order to cover off our rivals for the title. AJ still scored crucial points with a last-lap overtaking move on our big rivals for the Manufacturers’ title and that was invaluable. AJ’s been a fantastic addition to the team and three wins are an indication of his talent.”

BTCC Drivers’ Championship (final)
1. Ashley Sutton                                            372
2. Colin Turkington                                        351
3. Tom Ingram                                               311
4. Gordon Shedden                                      309
5. Rob Collard                                               256

9. Andrew Jordan                                       203

BTCC Manufacturers’ Championship (final)
1. BMW                                                         782
2. Subaru                                                      751
3. Honda                                                       726
4. Vauxhall                                                    580
5. MG                                                            369

BTCC Teams’ Championship (final)
1. Team BMW                                               594
2. Halfords Yuasa Racing                             545
3. Adrian Flux Subaru Racing                       513
4. Speedworks Motorsport                            307
5. Eurotech Racing                                       286

8. BMW Pirtek Racing                                 200

2018-07-17T22:59:08+00:00October 1st, 2017|BTCC|