GP3 Qualifying cancelled, Fukuzumi on pole

//GP3 Qualifying cancelled, Fukuzumi on pole

GP3 Qualifying cancelled, Fukuzumi on pole

Rain caused session cancellation, results from practice to be used


Nirei Fukuzumi has been handed pole position for this afternoon’s Race 1 at the Autodromo Nazionale Monza after this morning’s qualifying session was cancelled due to track conditions: the grid will be formed using yesterday’s free practice times, with the Japanese driver to line up ahead of ART Grand Prix teammates George Russell, Anthoine Hubert and Jack Aitken.


Heavy rain greeted the teams as they took their place in the pitlane: an early message advised that the session was delayed due to the conditions, and following a review by the track officials the call was made to cancel the session due to the excessive standing water and continuing rain.


As there is no time available between now and the race, qualifying could not be rescheduled: accordingly the grid will be formed from the classifications of free practice.


Behind the ART teammates Dorian Boccolacci, Steijn Schothorst, Leonardo Pulcini, Arjun Maini, Alessio Lorandi and new driver Dan Ticktum round out the top ten. Race 1 is set to take place today at 17.50 local time.


Fukuzumi noted: “Normally I want to get pole position in qualifying, but the conditions are quite bad for driving now. For the race it is a good opportunity for us to start from P1, and it is good for the Japanese fans with Nobuharu-san also in P1 from yesterday: I am used to racing in the rain from Japan, and I will look for a good result.”


Free Practice/Qualifying Classification


  Driver Team Laptime Laps
1. Nirei Fukuzumi ART Grand Prix 1:38.594 17
2. George Russell ART Grand Prix 1:38.693 18
3. Anthoine Hubert ART Grand Prix 1:38.776 19
4. Jack Aitken ART Grand Prix 1:38.786 19
5. Dorian Boccolacci Trident 1:38.933 21
6. Steijn Schothorst Arden International 1:38.963 20
7. Leonardo Pulcini Arden International 1:38.971 19
8. Arjun Maini Jenzer Motorsport 1:39.033 21
9. Alessio Lorandi Jenzer Motorsport 1:39.148 17
10. Daniel Ticktum DAMS 1:39.232 20
11. Marcos Siebert Campos Racing 1:39.298 20
12. Juan-Manuel Correa Jenzer Motorsport 1:39.470 20
13. Giuliano Alesi Trident 1:39.518 22
14. Niko Kari Arden International 1:39.565 18
15. Raoul Hyman Campos Racing 1:39.776 20
16. Bruno Baptista DAMS 1:39.860 17
17. Ryan Tveter Trident 1:39.923 22
18. Julien Falchero Campos Racing 1:39.968 19
19. Tatiana Calderon DAMS 1:40.411 18
20. Kevin Jörg Trident 1:41.112 20
2018-07-17T22:59:48+00:00September 2nd, 2017|GP 3 Series|