Frenchman leads the way in Spa


Dorian Boccolacci has claimed the early honours after topping this morning’s free practice session at the Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps, grabbing the top spot late in an uneventful session by four tenths from Tatiana Calderon and Kevin Jörg.


The Frenchman’s time of 2:06.163 came with 3 minutes remaining in a session where most of the drivers held a lot in reserve and working on race runs, given the expected difference in temperatures between practice and this afternoon’s qualifying session.


The track opened to cold but clear conditions, with everyone running straight out on track to get some laps: Anthoine Hubert and then Jack Aitken set the early pace, with Nirei Fukuzumi grabbed P1 at the half hour mark, and it looked like the session was done for fast laps.


But with 7 minutes remaining Calderon grabbed the top spot by over a second, prompting a number of her rivals to push to match her time: the Campos drivers squabbled with the other DAMS teammates as Calderon returned to the pits, and with 3 minutes to go Boccolacci nicked the top spot as teammate Jörg slotted into P3.


On the final lap Boccolacci was pushing again, running purple on sector 1 until a yellow in sector 2 slowed everyone, and the session was done: Leonardo Pulcini, Matthieu Vaxivière, Ryan Tveter, Marcos Siebert and Raoul Hyman were within a second of the top spot, with new driver Juan Manuel Correa a creditable P9 in his first session, with the ART teammates ran P13-16, led by Aitken. Qualifying promises a lot of change this afternoon.



Provisional Free Practice Classification


  Driver Team Laptime Laps
1. Dorian Boccolacci Trident 2 :06.163 17
2. Tatiana Calderon DAMS 2:06.568 14
3. Kevin Jörg Trident 2:06.569 16
4. Leonardo Pulcini Arden International 2:06.610 17
5. Matthieu Vaxivière DAMS 2:06.791 15
6. Ryan Tveter Trident 2:07.067 17
7. Marcos Siebert Campos Racing 2:07.099 15
8. Raoul Hyman Campos Racing 2:07.103 16
9. Juan Manuel Correa Jenzer Motorsport 2:07.189 17
10. Alessio Lorandi Jenzer Motorsport 2:07.237 16
11. Julien Falchero Campos Racing 2:07.470 14
12. Bruno Baptista DAMS 2:07.865 15
13. Jack Aitken ART Grand Prix 2:07.915 15
14. George Russell ART Grand Prix 2:08.009 14
15. Nirei Fukuzumi ART Grand Prix 2:08.124 15
16. Anthoine Hubert ART Grand Prix 2:08.283 14
17. Arjun Maini Jenzer Motorsport 2:08.517 16
18. Giuliano Alesi Trident 2:08.743 17
19. Steijn Schothorst Arden International 2:09.254 14
20. Niko Kari Arden International 2:09.330 13