F1: 2017 Bahrain In Season Test 01, Day 1 – Mercedes

/, Mercedes/F1: 2017 Bahrain In Season Test 01, Day 1 – Mercedes

F1: 2017 Bahrain In Season Test 01, Day 1 – Mercedes

2017 Bahrain In-Season Test, Day 1

Straight back to work in Bahrain, as Lewis kicks off the first in-season test of 2017

Date: Tuesday 18 April 2017
Driver: Lewis Hamilton
Circuit: Bahrain International Circuit
Circuit Length: 5.412km
Laps Completed: 97
Distance Covered: 525km
Best Lap Time: 1:31.358
Weather Conditions: Clear, dry, hot, windy

Mercedes-AMG Petronas Motorsport completed 97 laps of the Bahrain International Circuit, as the first in-season test of 2017 kicked off in Bahrain on Tuesday.

Lewis Hamilton was behind the wheel of the W08 EQ Power+ and ended the day top of the timesheets, clocking a 1:31.358 on the Soft compound Pirelli tyre late in the afternoon.

  • Today’s programme focused on evaluating new parts to be introduced over the next few races, aerodynamic analysis and setup work to address issues with poor rear grip in Sunday’s race
  • Mercedes-Benz Power Units today completed a total of 1,402km
  • Valtteri will take the wheel of the W08 tomorrow for the second and final day of the test

Lewis Hamilton
Today was tricky with it being so hot and very gusty but we still managed to get through plenty of work. Our focus was on advancing our understanding of the tyres and also the rear of the car so that we can improve our long runs – particularly during the race and on the SuperSoft compound. We came here with a specific goal, so it was positive to get on top of that with the team. Sochi is a smoother track and less abrasive on the tyres, so they can go quite a long way. Hopefully we can rely on the pace of our car there rather than our use of the tyres.

Pos. Driver Team Time Laps
1 Lewis Hamilton (44) Mercedes 1:31.358 97
2 Antonio Giovinazzi (99) Ferrari 1:31.984 93
3 Daniel Ricciardo (3) Red Bull 1:32.349 45
4 Romain Grosjean (8) Haas 1:32.452 87
5 Felipe Masa (19) Williams 1:32.509 56
6 Nico Hülkenberg (27) Renault 1:33.624 74
7 Lance Stroll (18) Williams 1:33.729 35
8 Sean Gelael (38) Toro Rosso 1:33.885 78
9 Sebastian Vettel (5) Ferrari 1:33.894 89
10 Alfonso Celis (34) Force India 1:33.939 71
11 Marcus Ericsson (9) Sauber 1:34.550 106
12 Oliver Turvey (47) McLaren 1:35.011 17
2018-07-17T23:02:01+00:00April 18th, 2017|Formula One, Mercedes|