• Dan Ticktum takes win number three for Fortec after early leader Colton Herta spins
  • Lando Norris shadows Ticktum to the flag with championship leader Ricky Collard third
SNETTERTON 8 AUGUST, 2015 – Dan Ticktum scored his third victory of the MSA Formula season at Snetterton this afternoon, the 16-year-old Fortec driver guiding his Ford EcoBoost-powered car to a 1.2s win over Lando Norris after gaining the lead on the second lap.Ticktum’s win came at the expense of test day and qualifying front-runner Colton Herta, who led the opening lap only to spin away his advantage under pressure from Dan. Lando Norris placed second to uphold Carlin honours with championship leader Ricky Collard third for the TRS Arden squad.

Herta did everything right in the run up to the race, besting everyone throughout Friday’s testing and scoring a twin-pole success in qualifying this morning ahead of Norris. The 15-year-old Californian made an impeccable start to lead Norris and Ticktum away from the line but came unstuck at Brundle on lap two. “I spun it – my fault,” said Colton, whose car was undamaged and able to rejoin.

Ticktum passed Norris for second on the opening lap and gratefully accepted Herta’s dropped ball. He was kept honest to the end by Norris, who pursued him for all he was worth. Said Dan from the victory podium: “It was a good race and the car was all good as well. Colton spun going under the bridge – I noticed that there wasn’t a lot of grip there on the first lap. It was a shame to see that but obviously it was quite good for me. Around lap five they started to close on me and I needed to push hard to get a small gap.” Ticktum also claimed the Rookie class honours for the ninth time this season.

Norris was frustrated not to have been able to get on terms with Ticktum but pleased to have slightly narrowed Collard’s championship lead: “I couldn’t do anything about Ticktum. We struggled a bit. I think if it had been the opposite way around, with me in front, then I could have pulled away because our pace is really good but it’s hard to follow a car closely and to pass here.”

After a nightmare qualifying involving a broken gearshift component, Collard was happy enough with his podium finish and is looking forward to pleasing the crowd in tomorrow’s feature race, which he will have to start from the back of the grid. Said Ricky: “We weren’t fast enough in the right places and that made it very difficult to try to get past. But I will be giving it everything in the Duo Arden car tomorrow and the spectators should be in for a treat.”

JHR Developments driver Sennan Fielding held station behind the leading bunch for the duration to finish fourth, 1.6s ahead of Carlin’s Petru Florescu, with TRS Arden man Enaam Ahmed continuing to demonstrate his improved form and claiming sixth, his best finish of the season to date. Florescu and Ahmed completed the Rookie class podium.

Matheus Leist battled his Double R team-mate Tarun Reddy throughout the race, the Brazilian relieving the Indian of seventh place on the final lap. Herta battled back from 11th after his spin, establishing a new lap record on his way to ninth ahead of Jack Barlow’s MBM car.

There was steady progress for Fortec’s Toby Sowery to claim 11th at the line from 16th on the grid, ahead of Louise Richardson’s Richardson Racing machine. Rafa Martins, his qualifying fuel pressure issues sorted, raced to 13th for SWB Motorsport ahead of Falcon Motorsport’s Jessica Hawkins and Sandy Mitchell (TRS Arden).

Tomorrow’s Snetterton excitement gets underway bright and early at 0920 with the reverse-grid race – in which Barlow will go from the pole – ahead of the 1520 feature race, which will be screened live on ITV4.

MSA Formula – Certified by FIA, Powered by Ford EcoBoost
Provisional results Round 16, Snetterton, 8 August 2015
11 laps / 32.66 miles
1 Daniel TICKTUM / GBR / Fortec 20m 45.770s / 94.37mph
2 Lando NORRIS / GBR / Carlin +1.281s
3 Ricky COLLARD / GBR / TRS Arden +2.035s
4 Sennan FIELDING / GBR / JHR +4.733s
5 Petru FLORESCU / ROU / Carlin +6.333s
6 Enaam AHMED / GBR / TRS Arden +11.455s
7 Matheus LEIST / BRA / Double R +13.850s
8 Tarun REDDY / IND / Double R +14.082s
9 Colton HERTA / USA / Carlin +14.183s
10 Jack BARLOW / GBR / MBM +15.558s etc
Fastest lap Herta 1m 51.651s / 95.72mph Est Rec