F1 News: Barcelona Test D2 – Mercedes AMG Petronas

/, Mercedes/F1 News: Barcelona Test D2 – Mercedes AMG Petronas

F1 News: Barcelona Test D2 – Mercedes AMG Petronas


Barcelona Test – Day Two

Pascal goes the distance to wrap up productive week in Barcelona!

Date: Wednesday 13 May 2015
Circuit: Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya
Driver: Pascal Wehrlein
Laps Completed: 137
Circuit Length: 4.655 km
Distance Covered: 638 km
Best Time: 1:26.497
Weather: Clear, dry, hot

MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS completed the first in-season test of 2015 today at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, with Pascal Wehrlein at the wheel of the F1 W06 Hybrid.

  • Pascal’s morning schedule consisted of familiarisation with the car, followed by a series of long runs
  • He then continued with setup work for the Monaco Grand Prix in the afternoon, in addition to evaluating a number of new parts and conducting practice starts
  • Pascal completed 73 laps between green light at 09:00 and lunch break at 13:00, a further 64 between 14:00 and the chequered flag at 18:00
  • Mercedes-Benz Power Units today completed a total of 1,722 km

Pascal Wehrlein
Today was a really good day. I was driving this car for the second time and it’s always a pleasure – especially after yesterday, which was a big disappointment for me. I still don’t feel 100% but it’s much better, so luckily I’ve been able to drive. We did some long runs before lunch and I was able to get a lot of laps, which was good as I had to adapt to the car again. But I felt comfortable from the start. The Mercedes Power Unit is unbelievable and the chassis too, with a very good balance. I could feel it has changed a bit since I last drove it during winter testing. The team has clearly been working hard and developing it even further. It’s definitely a step forward and I’ve loved every minute of being behind the wheel!

Pos. Driver Team Time Laps
1 Jolyon Palmer Lotus 1:26.080 87
2 Pascal Wehrlein MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS 1:26.497 137
3 Pierre Gasly Red Bull 1:26.683 75
4 Jenson Button McLaren 1:26.927 100
5 Alex Lynn Williams 1:26.967 52
6 Esteban Ocon Force India 1:27.520 94
7 Esteban Gutierrez Ferrari 1:27.930 119
8 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso 1:27.997 126
9 Raffaele Marciello Sauber 1:28.829 75
2018-07-17T23:12:38+00:00May 13th, 2015|Formula One, Mercedes|