GP3 LogoKoiranen GP driver quickest in morning test session in Jerez


Swede Jimmy Eriksson posted the best laptime on day two of testing in Spain with a 1.30.732 while Nick Yelloly (Status Grand Prix) clocked the best time of the afternoon session.


Grey clouds greeted the GP3 paddock at the Circuito de Jerez for the second day of pre-season testing. With cooler temperatures; drivers were eager to make the most of the early part of the session. Carlin’s Emil Bernstorff was first onto the circuit and he was the early pace-setter ahead of Eriksson. The Koiranen GP driver then moved into P1 and was first to lap into the 1m30’s bracket before Alex Lynn joined him, lapping a tenth shy of the Swede – they remained the only two to record a 1m30’s lap in the session.


As the sun came out, the drivers all headed back onto the track in the final stages but there was a short stop when Victor Carbone (Trident) spun into the gravel which was covered by a red flag period. There was eleven minutes left on the clock when the session resumed and with warmer temperatures, the drivers were unable to improve on the best times set within the first hour.


At the chequered flag it was Eriksson, Lynn, Bernstorff, Robert Visoiu, Dino Zamparelli, Pal Varhaug, Marvin Kirchhofer, Alex Fontana, Nick Yelloly and Santiago Urrutia rounding out the top ten.


Following the one hour break, Yelloly was the man to catch lapping in the 1m32’s. Urrutia had a small moment which meant his car paid a visit to the gravel trap and the session was red flagged. Jann Mardenborough and Visoiu held second and third with the Status GP duo of Richie Stanaway and newly announced Alfonso Celis Jr in fourth and fifth respectively at the midway point.


There was a brief interruption to the session when Pal Varhuag stopped on track and once the session re-commenced, the positions at the top remained unchanged until Bernstorff and Lynn swopped into second and third.


The standings at the end of the session were : Yelloly, Bernstorff, Lynn, Mardenborough, Visoiu, Adderly Fong, Stanaway, Patrick Kujala, Nelson Mason and Eriksson.


The third and final pre-season test session takes place next week at the Circuit de Catalunya on the 16-17 April 2014.


Morning Results- Day 2

  Driver Team Laptime Laps
Jimmy Eriksson Koiranen GP 1:30.732 36
Alex Lynn Carlin 1:30.902 28
Emil Bernstorff Carlin 1:31.135 32
Robert Visoiu Arden International 1:31.139 31
Dino Zamparelli ART Grand Prix 1:31.140 42
Pal Varhuag Jenzer Motorsport 1:31.291 30
Marvin Kirchhofer ART Grand Prix 1:31.372 42
Alex Fontana ART Grand Prix 1:31.374 42
Nick Yelloly Status Grand Prix 1:31.379 20
Santiago Urrutia Koiranen GP 1:31.413 34
Patric Niederhauser Arden International 1:31.578 28
Jann Mardenborough Arden International 1:31.686 29
Dean Stoneman Marussia Manor Racing 1:31.867 33
Roman De Beer Trident 1:31.888 32
Patrick Kujala Marussia Manor Racing 1:32.026 37
Richie Stanaway Status Grand Prix 1:32.065 34
Luis Sa Silva Carlin 1:32.174 24
Christopher Hoher Jenzer Motorsport 1:32.213 21
Nelson Mason Hilmer Motorsport 1:32.231 21
Adderly Fong Jenzer Motorsport 1:32.234 35
Ryan Cullen Marussia Manor Racing 1:32.416 48
Alfonso Celis Jr Status Grand Prix 1:32.421 35
Victor Carbone Trident 1:32.646 31
Denis Nagulin Trident 1:33.628 31
Ivan Taranov Hilmer Motorsport 1:34.672 16
Carmen Jorda Koiranen GP 1:35.362 27


Afternoon Results* 

  Driver Team Laptime Laps
Nick Yelloly Status Grand Prix 1:32.481 50
Emil Bernstorff Carlin 1:32.647 34
Alex Lynn Carlin 1:32.874 37
Jann Mardenborough Arden International 1:33.025 37
Robert Visoiu Arden International 1:33.026 37
Adderly Fong Jenzer Motorsport 1:33.213 42
Richie Stanaway Status Grand Prix 1:33.285 31
Patrick Kujala Marussia Manor Racing 1:33.285 40
Nelson Mason Hilmer Motorsport 1:33.359 27
Jimmy Eriksson Koiranen GP 1:33.476 42
Alfonso Celis Jr Status Grand Prix 1:33.481 42
Patric Niederhauser Arden International 1:33.512 35
Dean Stoneman Marussia Manor Racing 1:33.573 31
Alex Fontana ART Grand Prix 1:33.726 37
Victor Carbone Trident 1:33.730 37
Marvin Kirchhofer ART Grand Prix 1:33.776 36
Santiago Urrutia Koiranen GP 1:33.990 15
Denis Nagulin Trident 1:34.108 33
Dino Zamparelli ART Grand Prix 1:34.201 39
Ryan Cullen Marussia Manor Racing 1:34.240 33
Ivan Taranov Hilmer Motorsport 1:34.266 34
Luis Sa Silva Carlin 1:34.322 28
Roman De Beer Trident 1:34.862 23
Christopher Hoher Jenzer Motorsport 1:35.363 45
Carmen Jorda Koiranen GP 1:36.044 20

Pal Varhaug’s laptimes’ deleted due to his Jenzer Motorsport car being found underweight