Mercedes LogoBahrain – 09/04/2014
Bahrain Test – Day Two
Date Wednesday 09 April
Track Bahrain International Circuit
Driver Lewis Hamilton

No of Laps 120 laps
Best Lap Time 1:34.136
Kilometres Covered 650 km
Track Length 5.412 km
Weather  Clear, dry, hot
MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS concluded the first in-season test of 2014 at the Bahrain International Circuit today, with Lewis Hamilton taking the wheel of the F1 W05 for the second of two days’ running in Sakhir this week. Lewis’ best time of 1:34.136 from 120 laps put him first on the time sheets.
• Today’s programme focused on tyres, with the team conducting a range of tests on behalf of Pirelli in line with the 2014 Formula One Sporting Regulations
• A successful session saw the team complete the requested tyre evaluation programme.
• Lewis emerged for his first run at 09:00 local time, completing 50 laps in the morning
• A further 70 laps followed in the afternoon, running right up to the chequered flag at 17:30
• Mercedes-Benz Power Units today completed a total of 1,472 km between all teams
The team now returns to Brackley and Brixworth to prepare for round four of the 2014 Formula One season, the Chinese Grand Prix, next weekend.

Lewis Hamilton
It’s been a long day, running lap after lap to analyse the tyres but driving a Formula One car is never boring. Of course, the nature of a tyre test means we haven’t learnt anything in particular in terms of improving the car but it’s useful for Pirelli and therefore useful to us in the long term. They just gave me different sets and I told them how each felt. The plan was just to get in as many laps as we could. The times mean nothing as everyone had their own programmes to run. It’s been a fantastic few weeks for the team but also a long stint away, so I’m sure everyone is looking forward to heading back home for a well-deserved rest. Of course, it’s a short turnaround before China so I’ll be in the factory to work on ways we can improve.

Pos.  Driver  Car  Time  Laps
1  Lewis Hamilton  MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS  1:34.136  120
2  Jean-Eric Vergne  Toro Rosso  1:35.557  64
3  Kevin Magnussen  McLaren  1:36.203  26
4  Sergio Pérez  Force India  1:36.586  63
5  Daniel Ricciardo  Red Bull  1:37.310  67
6  Jules Bianchi  Marussia  1:37.316  93
7  Giedo van der Garde  Sauber  1:37.623  77
8  Fernando Alonso  Ferrari  1:37.912  12
9  Marcus Ericsson  Caterham  1:39.263  66
10  Felipe Nasr  Williams  1:39.879  64
11  Romain Grosjean  Lotus  1:43.732  16