GP3 LogoFirst of three pre-season tests takes place in Portugal


The 2014 GP3 Series gets underway tomorrow with the first official two day test session at the Circuito Estoril in Portugal. GP3 enters its fifth season of existence with racing kicking off in Barcelona in May.


The paddock welcomes back many familiar faces, along with some new recruits, all eager to follow in the footsteps of our reigning GP3 champion and current Scuderia Toro Rosso Formula 1 driver Daniil Kvyat.


Current Team Champions ART Grand Prix have brought in the experienced Alex Fontana and Dino Zamparelli and welcome German rookie Marvin Kirchhofer. Arden International (formally known as MW Arden) line-up with the double race-winning pairing of Robert Visoiu and Patric Niederhauser, whilst British driver Jann Mardenborough will make his debut in the Series.


Koiranen GP have signed Jimmy Eriksson and GP3 debutant Santiago Urrutia from Uruguay whilst Carmen Jorda will test for the Finnish outfit this week. Carlin has completed their team for this campaign, retaining Luis Sa Silva with Red Bull Junior Team driver Alex Lynn and Emil Bernstorff joining the British squad.


This season Marussia Manor Racing will field a trio of drivers who have all competed in GP3, Patrick Kujala and Ryan Cullen both raced in the 2013 season, along with Dean Stoneman who made a very impressive showing in his one-off appearance in the Abu Dhabi season finale to score a podium.


Jenzer Motorsport will be reviewing drivers from the test session before announcing their line-up for the 2014 campaign with GP3’s inaugural race winner Pal Varhaug testing for the Swiss outfit and he will be accompanied by fellow race winner Melville McKee and Adderly Fong.


Victor Carbone and Roman De Beer represent Italian outfit Trident this season and will be joined by Nelson Mason.


Nick Yelloly has switched to the green and black liveried Status Grand Prix this year, whilst former GP3 driver Richie Stanaway and Mexican Alfonso Celis Jr will test for the team in Portugal.


Newcomers to the GP3 Series for the 2014 season, Hilmer Motorsport, will make their official debut at the next test session in Jerez on the 10th – 11th April bringing the total to nine teams.


The schedule for Day 1 of the test sees the test commence at 09.00 – 12.00 with a two hour break. The afternoon session will begin at 14.00 and end at 17.00.


Drivers’ Entry List

1  Alex Fontana  SUI ART Grand Prix
2  Marvin Kirchhofer  GER ART Grand Prix
3  Dino Zamparelli  GBR  ART Grand Prix
4  Robert Visoiu  ROU  Arden International
5  Patric Niederhauser  SUI  Arden International
6  Jann Mardenborough  GBR  Arden International
7  Carmen Jorda  ESP  Koiranen GP
8  Jimmy Eriksson  SWE  Koiranen GP
9  Santiago Urrutia  SWE  Koiranen GP
10  Alex Lynn  GBR  Carlin
11  Emil Bernstorff  GBR  Carlin
12  Luis Sa Silva  MAC  Carlin
14  Patrick Kujala  FIN  Marussia Manor Racing
15  Ryan Cullen  GBR  Marussia Manor Racing
16  Dean Stoneman  GBR  Marussia Manor Racing
20  Pal Varhaug  NOR  Jenzer Motorsport
21  Melville McKee GBR  Jenzer Motorsport
22  Adderly Fong CHN  Jenzer Motorsport
23  Victor Carbone  BRA  Trident
24  Roman De Beer  RSA  Trident
25  Nelson Mason CAN  Trident
26  Nick Yelloly  GBR  Status Grand Prix
27  Richie Stanaway NZL  Status Grand Prix
28  Alfonso Celis Jr  MEX  Status Grand Prix