F4 – F4 lead trio named as McLaren Autosport BRDC Award Finalists

//F4 – F4 lead trio named as McLaren Autosport BRDC Award Finalists

F4 – F4 lead trio named as McLaren Autosport BRDC Award Finalists

F4 Final Logo v3Jake Hughes, Seb Morris and Charlie Robertson in running for prestigious award

The BRDC F4 top-three of Jake Hughes, Seb Morris and Charlie Robertson have all been named as finalists for the presitigious McLaren Autosport BRDC Award.

The trio will be assessed at Silverstone later this month, driving Formula 2, DTM Mercedes and McLaren GT3 machinery.

The winner, who will be revealed at December’s Autosport Awards, will receive £100,000, a test drive in a McLaren F1 car, full BRDC membership and an Arai GP-6 RC carbon helmet.

“It’s definitely a nice surprise to make the final six,” said Hughes. “If you’d told me at the start of the year that would happen, it would have been unbelievable, but after winning the championship I started to think I might have a chance. I’m up against some really good drivers so it’s an honour to be among them. This time last year I was ready to go to a World Finals event in karting, and we didn’t even have the budget to consider doing car racing. Now I’ve won the F4 Championship, made the cut for the Award, and I’m going to be driving an F2 car, a DTM Mercedes and a McLaren GT. It’s surreal!”

Morris commented: “I’m absolutely delighted to have been named a McLaren Autosport finalist. It’s a huge honour and a real acknowledgment, so many incredible drivers have won in the past and the prize of a Formula One test with McLaren is such an amazing opportunity. The competition will be tough, incredibly so, but I’ll be preparing hard for the assessment days and obviously going there to impress the judges and, hopefully, win. Whatever happens, just to be one of the final six is a great achievement and it’ll be a potentially career-changing experience.”

Robertson added: “I never really expected to be selected in my first year of single-seaters. I’m overwhelmed! All the cars sound fantastic. I saw the DTMs at Brands Hatch this year and they look amazing.”

The judging panel for the award includes BRDC president Derek Warwick, BTCC star Jason Plato, Andrew Kirkaldy, McLaren head of vehicle engineering Mark Williams, Autosport’s Kevin Turner, and circuit commentator Ian Titchmarsh, who witnessed the vast majority of this year’s BRDC F4 races.

Previous winners of the award include David Coulthard, Jenson Button, Anthony Davidson, Dario Franchitti and Paul Di Resta.

2018-07-17T23:25:52+00:00October 10th, 2013|BRDC F4|