F4 Final Logo v3Ross Gunn claims second win of the season in race two for Motionsport

Lanan Racing’s Jake Hughes holds a 34 point advantage at the top of the BRDC F4 Championship standings, after a brilliant drive to victory in race three on the Silverstone Grand Prix circuit.

Hughes started from pole position but was out dragged to the first corner by race one winner Matty Graham. The Sean Walkinshaw Racing driver held the lead for the opening two laps, but Hughes was constantly pressuring Graham, and made an audacious move around the outside of Brooklands corner on lap three to take the lead.

From there he didn’t look back and pulled away from the rest of the field by a second a lap to take the victory, his third of the year, by 6.839 seconds. Race one winner Graham took second to round off a very strong weekend which elevated him to fourth in the championship standings, while Morris claimed third despite front nose damage to consolidate second place in the chase for the title. The top three received their trophies on the podium from British Touring Car Championship front runner Andrew Jordan.

Jack Barlow claimed fourth for Sean Walkinshaw Racing, with HHC Motorsport’s Charlie Robertson fifth and team mate Raoul Hyman sixth.

“I’m really happy with my weekend” Hughes exclaimed. “It’s great to firstly retain my championship lead, and secondly to extend it over the weekend by quite a margin. But the rest of the championship is definitely not going to be simple and any issue in a race and it’ll be back to square one again.

“I’m just going to keep on doing my best, keep collecting strong points and podiums if I can and that way the championship will take care of itself.

“I’ll still be going flat out, I like the accolades and statistics of race wins and podiums and hopefully I’ll get plenty more of them. I have a tiny percentage in the back of my mind looking at the points but I’ll just keep driving as I am now.”

Hughes also collected the BRM Rapide Award for setting the fastest race lap of the weekend, while also claiming a trophy and a cheque for £150 for his race three pole position as part of the Jack Cavill Pole Position Cup.

Earlier in the day, Ross Gunn claimed his second win of the season for Motionsport, adding to the one he achieved at Oulton Park at the start of July.

The 16-year-old started from pole and led the entire race, finishing 4.6 seconds clear of Sean Walkinshaw Racing’s Jack Barlow, while privateer James Greenway claimed his first car race podium in third place. Robertson took fourth, Graham fifth and Jake Dalton sixth for Mark Godwin Racing.

Gunn, Barlow and Greenway were presented with their trophies on the podium by double British Touring Car champion Jason Plato.

“It’s been a really good day” Gunn commented. “After qualifying yesterday I didn’t really expect to come away with a win but that’s the nature of this championship and you get a good chance in race two. It worked out brilliantly for me and I managed to take advantage of the pole position secured by finishing eighth in race one. Our pace has been really strong today so I’m really happy; we’ve come away with 56 points this weekend and moved up two places in the championship, so happy days!”

Hughes holds a 34 point lead at the top of the standings from Morris while Jack Barlow has climbed to third after three finishes inside the top five at Silverstone. Sean Walkinshaw Racing team mate Graham had a similarly strong weekend, adding a fifth and a second place to the win he claimed in race one yesterday, and rises to fourth in the standings. Jake Dalton had a difficult weekend and lies fifth for Mark Godwin Racing, with HHC’s Robertson completing the top six.

BRDC F4 Championship, Silverstone GP, race three result:
1. Jake Hughes, Lanan Racing, 10 laps
2. Matty Graham, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, +6.839s
3. Seb Morris, Hillspeed, +14.343s
4. Jack Barlow, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, +14.841s
5. Charlie Robertson, HHC Motorsport, +15.877s
6. Raoul Hyman, HHC Motorsport, +17.167s
7. Struan Moore, Hillspeed, +18.231s
8. Ross Gunn, Motionsport, +18.653s
9. Diego Menchaca, Mark Godwin Racing, +22.772s
10. Pietro Fittipaldi, Mark Godwin Racing, +23.283s

BRDC Formula 4 Championship, Silverstone GP, race two result:
1. Ross Gunn, Motionsport, 10 laps
2. Jack Barlow, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, +4.615s
3. James Greenway, Frank T Greenway Racing, +5.276s
4. Charlie Robertson, HHC Motorsport, +8.039s
5. Matty Graham, Sean Walkinshaw Racing +10.409s
6. Jake Dalton, Mark Godwin Racing, +13.553s
7. Seb Morris, Hillspeed, +14.295s
8. Struan Moore, Hillspeed, +17.030s
9. Jake Hughes, Lanan Racing, +18.277s
10. Raoul Hyman, HHC Motorsport, +19.784s

BRDC Formula 4 Championship standings after race 18 (provisional):
1. Jake Hughes, Lanan Racing, 339 pts
2. Seb Morris, Hillspeed, 305 pts
3. Jack Barlow, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, 300 pts
4. Matty Graham, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, 275 pts
5. Jake Dalton, Mark Godwin Racing, 270 pts
6. Charlie Robertson, HHC Motorsport, 268 pts
7. Ross Gunn, Motionsport, 242 pts
8. Matt Bell, Douglas Team E-Lites, 235 pts
9. Raoul Hyman, HHC Motorsport, 229 pts
10. Diego Menchaca, Mark Godwin Racing, 182 pts