Mclaren logo 3Test report – Silverstone day two

Date                 Thursday July 18 2013

Driver               Oliver Turvey

Location           Silverstone Circuit

Track length     5.891km

Laps                 98

Km covered      577

Best laptime     1m33.864s

Programme      Test and development driver Oliver Turvey took to the wheel today for his first taste of the MP4-28, on the second of this week’s three-day Young Driver Test at Silverstone.

Oliver began the day with a number of iterative aero tests, running through mechanical set-up changes and conducting tyre evaluation runs.

After lunch, he then began a series of longer runs aimed at testing modifications made in the morning. The day also enabled the team to improve correlation between the simulator and the track.

Speaking afterwards, Oliver said:

“It was a really busy day given we tested lots of things on the car. Hopefully it will help us to improve our understanding. Mid-seasons test are very important, which is why I hardly got out the car all day.

“I loved the experience. There are limited opportunities to drive a Formula 1 car these days, so to do nearly 100 laps was great. I’m in my fourth season with the team and really enjoying it. I want to thank them for choosing me to drive here, it was fantastic.”

What’s next      After a full day in the cockpit, Oliver hands over to Gary Paffett, who will conduct the final day of testing tomorrow.

Test dates        Three days (July 17-19)

Pos      Driver                           Constructor                              Time                Laps

1          Daniel Ricciardo            Scuderia Toro Rosso                 1m32.972s        49

2          Carlos Sainz Jr              Scuderia Toro Rosso                 1m33.016s        40

3          Daniel Ricciardo            Red Bull Racing                         1m33.187s       60

4          Davide Valsecchi          Lotus                                        1m33.554s        92

5          Oliver Turvey               Vodafone McLaren Mercedes   1m33.864s        98

6          James Calado               Force India                                1m33.957s        48

7          Antonio Felix da Costa Red Bull Racing                        1m33.958s        20

8          Davide Rigon                Ferrari                                       1m34.053s        98

9          Pastor Maldonado         Williams                                    1m34.116s        72

10         Nico Hulkenburg            Sauber                                      1m34.224s        53

11         Daniel Juncadella          Williams                                    1m34.631s        34

12         Robin Frijns                  Sauber                                      1m34.731s        18

13         Will Stevens                  Caterham                                  1m36.082s        99

14         Paul di Resta                Force India                                1m36.356s        42

15         Rodolfo Gonzalez         Marussia                                   1m.37.949s       93