F4 – Moore and Hughes claim first F4 race wins as Robertson holds championship lead

//F4 – Moore and Hughes claim first F4 race wins as Robertson holds championship lead

F4 – Moore and Hughes claim first F4 race wins as Robertson holds championship lead

F4 Final Logo v3Struan Moore and Jake Hughes secured their maiden BRDC F4 wins at Snetterton yesterday (16 June), as Charlie Robertson retained his championship lead for HHC Motorsport.

Hillspeed’s Moore claimed the honours in race two of the weekend, after an excellent drive from pole position. Raoul Hyman took second for HHC with Falco Wauer earning his second podium of the season for Team KBS.

The original race was red flagged after an incident on lap one. Exiting Riches (turn one), privateer Matt Bell and Douglas Motorsport’s Sennan Fielding collided, with both cars suffering heavy damage. SWR’s Matthew Graham was also caught up in the process. All drivers were unhurt in the incident but with the track covered by debris, the decision was taken to red flag the race.

Moore made a solid restart and thereafter controlled the race, although he came under pressure from Hyman late on. Seb Morris rounded off a great race for the Hillspeed team with fourth place, ahead of championship leader Robertson.

The trophy presentations on the podiums for Sunday’s two races were made by former F1 drivers Mark Blundell and Snetterton local Martin Brundle.

Charlie Robertson and Raoul Hyman finished first and second on the road for HHC Motorsport in race three, but were excluded from the results of the race for a technical infringement concerning the attachment method of the rear gurney (part of the rear wing assembly) following post race scrutineering. The results remain provisional pending an appeal to the governing body.

The exclusions promoted Lanan Racing’s Jake Hughes to the race win, and Team KBS’ James Fletcher and Mark Godwin Racing’s Jake Dalton into second and third place.

Mark Godwin Racing’s Diego Menchaca and Pietro Fittipaldi were excluded from the results of race one on Saturday for technical infringements concerning the weight of Menchaca’s car, and the use of incorrect springs in Fittipaldi’s, following post race scrutineering.

Robertson now leads the BRDC Formula 4 Championship by three points from Dalton, with Morris up into third. Hughes moves into fourth by virtue of his race three win, with Matt Bell fifth. Fletcher moves up to sixth following his race win in Saturday’s opening encounter.

Provisional BRDC Formula 4 Championship standings after round nine:


1. Charlie Robertson, HHC Motorsport, 164pts
2. Jake Dalton, Mark Godwin Racing, 161pts
3. Seb Morris, Hillspeed, 146pts
4. Jake Hughes, Lanan Racing, 141pts
5. Matt Bell, MattRBell Racing, 135pts
6. James Fletcher, Team KBS, 124pts
7. Jack Barlow, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, 121pts
8. Falco Wauer, Team KBS, 114pts
9. Matthew Graham, Sean Walkinshaw Racing, 110pts
10. Raoul Hyman, HHC Motorsport, 93pts

2018-07-17T23:29:06+00:00June 18th, 2013|BRDC F4|