F2 – Bortolotti edges closer to F2 title with Monza pole

//F2 – Bortolotti edges closer to F2 title with Monza pole

F2 – Bortolotti edges closer to F2 title with Monza pole

F2 Media

Italian secures P1 during closely fought qualifying session

Mirko Bortolotti secured pole position by the narrowest of margins for today’s (Sunday) race two in Monza and edges ever closer to securing the 2011 FIA Formula Two Championship title.

The 21-year-old Italian chose to put in his boost lap in earlier to avoid traffic around the 5.793km circuit which paid dividend as he topped the timesheets with a 1:38.979s – a margin of only 0.025s from his nearest rival.

That spot belonged to Ramon Pineiro with Tobias Hegewald securing P3 for round 14 which gets underway at 14:40 local time.

After a disappointing race one, Miki Monras recovered to line-up fourth with Thiemo Storz producing his best ever qualifying result in fifth. Danish driver continued to impress this weekend in sixth with Brits Alex Brundle and Luciano Bacheta securing seventh and eighth places respectively.

Frenchman Benjamin Lariche and Jack Clarke rounded out the top 10 just ahead of Christopher Zanella who was hampered by yellow flags following a spin by yesterday’s race winner Mihai Marinescu who ended the session 18th.

Speaking afterwards Bortolotti said: “First of all I’m very happy with the session. Unfortunately yesterday we would have had the pace to maybe be on the front row, maybe challenging for pole as well, but I was in trouble because of the yellows. So I just decided to stay out of trouble today and try to put my pace on the track and try to take what I can take and I think that we showed some good potential throughout the weekend.”

Full coverage on today’s race is available via the official F2 website where Mirko Bortolotti now needs just two points to secure the F2 title crown.

Qualifying two, Monza, results:

1. Mirko Bortolotti, 1:38.979s
2. Ramon Pineiro, +0.025s
3. Tobias Hegewald, +0.120s
4. Miki Monras, +0.244s
5. Thiemo Storz, +0.543s
6. Mikkel Mac, +0.658s
7. Alex Brundle, +0.731s
8. Luciano Bacheta, +1.109s
9. Benjamin Lariche, +1.182s
10. Jack Clarke, +1.300s

2018-07-17T23:45:00+00:00October 2nd, 2011|Formula 2|