GP3 Series Media

MW Arden’s Lewis Williamson won his first GP3 Series race today in front of his home crowd at Silverstone Circuit. The Scot finished ahead of Addax team’s Dean Smith and Status Grand Prix’s Alexander Sims to lead an all British podium, and was the eighth different winner this season.

The dry conditions for race two this morning were a far cry from yesterday’s pre-race downpour. Poleman Smith held onto his lead when the light went off, whilst Williamson made a bad start off the line dropping to fifth allowing James Calado up into second and Nick Yelloly into third. Adrian Quaife-Hobbs’ weekend went from bad to worse when a mechanical problem prevented him from pulling away from fifth on the formation lap and starting from the pitlane.

Williamson recovered from his slow getaway brilliantly, and after a three-way battle and a couple of good overtaking maneuvers to pass Calado and Smith, the Scotsman was back into the lead by the end of lap one. Yelloly and Alexander Sims were running in fourth and fifth respectively, but it was Rio Haryanto who was on a mission – the Marussia Manor Racing driver started the race from tenth, and by the end of lap two had passed yesterday’s race winner Nico Müller to take sixth spot.

A fight then ensued between Sims, Haryanto and Muller, with the Brit and the Indonesian both finding a way passed Muller on lap 6. Sims then set his sights on Calado and the final podium position, whilst still defending hard from a charging Haryanto. Williamson meanwhile was 3.5 seconds ahead of the pack.

As the race came to a close, Calado was doing everything in his power to hold back Sims, but the Status driver was unstoppable finding a way past the Lotus ART driver with two laps remaining. Calado then went wide loosing another spot to Hayanto. Williamson drove a faultless race to claim his first victory ahead of Smith and Sims. Haryanto, Calado and Yelloly took the remaining available. Third place man in the standings Nigel Melker had a great race moving up from twenty-seventh to eighth, but leaves Silverstone point-less. Series leader Mitch Evans’ weekend went from bad to worse after a first lap retirement meant the Kiwi also leaves Silverstone with no points.

Sims has now moved into the lead of the Series by three points. MW Arden continues to lead the teams’ standing with forty-five points after becoming the first team this season to win more than one race.

Race 2 result:

1 28 L. WILLIAMSON GBR MW Arden 14 26:51.435  
2 25 D. SMITH GBR Addax Team 14 26:56.525 5.090
3 4 A. SIMS GBR Status Grand Prix 14 26:58.637 7.202
4 11 R. HARYANTO INA Marussia Manor Racing 14 26:59.613 8.178
5 3 J. CALADO GBR Lotus ART 14 27:02.673 11.238
6 21 N. YELLOLY GBR Atech CRS GP 14 27:03.054 11.619
7 14 C. DALY USA Carlin 14 27:03.515 12.080
8 31 N. MELKER NED RSC Mucke Motorsport 14 27:04.486 13.051
9 5 A. FELIX DA COSTA POR Status Grand Prix 14 27:06.095 14.660
10 27 S. TRUMMER SUI MW Arden 14 27:12.382 20.947
11 7 N. MULLER SUI Jenzer Motorsport 14 27:14.009 22.574
12 2 V. BOTTAS FIN Lotus ART 14 27:15.422 23.987
13 30 M. CHRISTENSEN DEN RSC Mucke Motorsport 14 27:16.773 25.338
14 24 G. CHAVES COL Addax Team 14 27:22.299 30.864
15 10 A. QUAIFE-HOBBS GBR Marussia Manor Racing 14 27:24.400 32.965
16 22 Z. AMBERG SUI Atech CRS GP 14 27:26.784 35.349
17 1 P.NUNES BRA Lotus ART 14 27:28.448 37.013
18 17 A. VAINIO FIN Tech 1 Racing 14 27:30.014 38.579
19 29 L. BACHETA GBR RSC Mucke Motorsport 14 27:31.077 39.642
20 19 T. PAL KISS HUN Tech 1 Racing 14 27:32.892 41.457
21 18 T. HYLKEMA NED Tech 1 Racing 14 27:33.194 41.759
22 9 V. GHIRELLI ITA Jenzer Motorsport 14 27:33.473 42.038
23 16 L. CORDEIRO BRA Carlin 14 27:37.001 45.566
24 6 I. LUKASHEVICH RUS Status Grand Prix 14 27:41.428 49.993
25 23 T. DILLMANN FRA Addax Team 13 25:36.662 DNF
  20 M. STOCKINGER PHI Atech CRS GP 8 16:20.545 DNF
  12 M. LAINE FIN Marussia Manor Racing 3 6:21.000 DNF
  26 M. EVANS NZL MW Arden 0   DNF
          FASTEST LAP  
  10 A. QUAIFE-HOBBS GBR Marussia Manor Racing