FRenault BARC – Another new team and further driver signings for FRBARC

//FRenault BARC – Another new team and further driver signings for FRBARC

FRenault BARC – Another new team and further driver signings for FRBARC

Less than a week since Team Zest confirmed it is joining the Protyre Formula Renault BARC Championship, yet another new team is to enter the paddock with the welcome arrival of Daytona Motorsport.

Headed by Team Manager Richard Brunning, an experienced driver in his own right, Daytona Motorsport – is the second new team to register for the 2011 season as interest in the one-make single-seater series continues to soar.

Daytona Motorsport has already confirmed their one and only seat in Russian karter Ivan Taranov – adding to the international entry list. Taranov from Togliatti in Russia has several years’ karting experience behind him and finished eighth in last year’s Daytona Max Sprint Lightweight series.

Commenting on the decision to join the championship Brunning said: “We see the Formula Renault BARC series as very good value and the natural step for karters such as Ivan to move into single-seater racing. Having the final rounds running alongside the British Touring Car Championship is an added incentive as it allows upcoming drivers to impress in front of the Formula Renault UK teams.”

Further signings….

Interest in the series continued further this week with Antel Motorsport confirming two of its drivers for their 2011 campaign in Archie Hamilton and Callum Bowyer. Twenty-year-old Hamilton from Hampshire returns to the series after finishing ninth in 2009 while newcomer Bowyer from Peterborough makes his Formula Renault BARC debut after a successful KF2 season last year in which he finished third.

Meanwhile Simon Baldry’s SWB Motorsport team has announced two of their possible four drivers with 18-year-old Jack Dex from Silverstone and 16-year-old British/South African Raoul Owens. Both drivers make the step-up from British Super One karting.

With interest continuing to mount, organisers of the series are now confident that their original prediction of 20 cars is likely to be surpassed before the season gets underway at Donington Park on 23rd/24th April.

2011 Protyre Formula Renault BARC Championship confirmed signings so far:

Archie Hamilton          Antel Motorsport
Callum Bowyer           Antel Motorsport
Ivan Taranov               Daytona Motorsport
Zaamin Jaffer             Hillspeed
Sean Walkinshaw       Hillspeed
John Thorp                  MTech
Max Robinson             Privateer
Steven Durrant           RPD Motorsport
Jack Dex                    SWB Motorsport
Raoul Owens              SWB Motorsport

2011-01-26T09:50:48+00:00January 26th, 2011|Formula Renault BARC|